Home Apurvi, Chain strike gold on last day of Nationals

    Apurvi, Chain strike gold on last day of Nationals

    Apurvi Chandela

    Olympic quota winner Apurvi Chandela gave a firm indication that her Olympic preparations were on the right track when she won the Women’s 10M Air Rifle on the last day of the 59th National Shooting Championship in New Delhi.

    Chain Singh, also an Olympic quota winner like Apurvi, claimed the Men’s 50M Rifle 3 Positions Gold at the Dr. Karni Singh Shooting Range.

    While Apurvi was clearly the woman to beat in her final, Chain had to fend off the challenge from Olympic bronze medallist Gagan Narang who finished second.

    The silver in women’s air rifle was won by junior shooter Geetakshi Dixit of Rajasthan.

    Haryana’s Anjum Moudgil who led the finals throughout before she stumbled with shots of 9.6 and 9.9 settled with the bronze.

    In the men’s rifle 3-position event, Chain Singh pipped Gagan Narang by 1.6 points for the gold. Swapnil Kusale came up with a creditable bronze ahead of Deepak Kumar, Sanjeev Rajput, Imran Hasan Khan, Satyendra Singh and N.P. Parida.

    Gagan had topped the qualification round with a score of 1170 while both Swapnil and Chain had registered scores of 1166.

    Gagan posted on his facebook page, “Last nationals had to walk away with no medals…Happy to win three individual medals at the current national championship in Delhi”.

    In the junior men’s sports pistol, Achal Pratap Singh Grewal dominated by beating Gurmeet Singh by nine points with a total of 580.

    The Results:

    Women’s 10m Air Rifle: 1. Apurvi Chandela 207.8 (417.0); 2. Geetakshi Dixit 206.8 (414.4); 3. Anjum Moudgil 185.7 (415.6).

    Juniors: 1. Geetakshi Dixit 414.4; 2. Prachi Pramod Gadkari 413.8; 3. Nupur Hagawane Patil 413.5.

    Youth: 1. Nupur Hagawane Patil 413.5; 2. Ayushi Podder 410.4; 3. Manini Kaushik 410.4.

    Men’s 50m Rifle Three Positions: 1. Chain Singh 452.8 (1166); 2. Gagan Narang 451.1 (1170); 3. Swapnil Kusale 441.7 (1166).

    Junior Men’s 25m Sports Pistol: 1. Achal Pratap Singh Grewal 580; 2. Gurmeet Singh 571; 3. Aadeithya Johal 568.


    Previous articleMouth-watering biryani a big hit at Nationals
    Next articleAnant Jeet Singh Naruka wins skeet gold at Nationals