Home Clean sweep by Army shooters at KSS

    Clean sweep by Army shooters at KSS

    Omprakash Choudhary

    MoriniArmy shooters made a clean sweep by wining all three individual medals in the Men’s 50m Pistol at the 16th Kumar Surendra Singh Memorial Shooting Championship, underway at Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala.

    Silver medallist at the recent South Asian Games, Omprakash Choudhary won the gold with a score of 191.7, silver was won by Om Prakash with a score of 189.5 while Gurpal Singh shot 164.3 to win the bronze.

    Army MedallistsNot surprisingly, Army also won the team gold in the event.

    In the 10m Air Rifle, Milanpreet Singh of Punjab won the gold with a score of 205.7 in the finals.

    The Punjab shooter scored 205.7, edging Nigam Prasad Parida (Navy, 204.7) to the second spot. Aribam Dicky Sharma took the bronze with 183.6.

    Tejaswini Sawant
    Tejaswini Sawant

    Former World Champion Tejaswini Sawant won the Women’s 50m Rifle Prone. Tejaswini shot 618.4 to claim the gold with a narrow margin of 0.3 point. V.Srinithi Abirami of Tamil Nadu won the silver with a score of 618.1 while veteran Kuheli Gangulee who very recently had won the gold in 12th South Asian Games shot a score of 617.7 to settle for the bronze today.

    The Results:

    Men’s 10m Air Rifle: 1. Milanpreet Singh (PUN) 619.4 (205.7), 2. Nigam Prasad Parida (Navy) 204.7 (616.9), 3. Aribam Dicky Sharma (Army) 183.6 (621.6). Juniors: 1. B. Mithlesh (TN) 619.6, 2. Chhagan Rao Pratik (MAH) 618.8, 3. Arjun Babuta (PUN) 613.9. Team: 1. Army 1856.2, 2. Air Force 1848.5. 3. Navy 1848.4.

    Men’s 50m Pistol: 1. Om Prakash (Army) 191.7 (552), 2. Om Prakash (Army) 189.5 (547), 3. Gurpal Singh (Army) 164.3 (563). Juniors: 1. P.I. Abhinaluv Vijay (TN) 531, 2. Arjun Das (BEN) 531, 3. Anmol Jain (HAR) 528.

    Women’s 50m Rifle Prone: 1. Tejaswini Sawant (MAH) 618.4, 2. Srinithi Abirami (TN) 618.1, 3. Kuheli Gangulee (CISF) 617.7. Juniors: 1. Ayushi Podder (BEN) 613.1, 2. N. Gaayathri (TN) 612.6, 3. Sonika (NCC) 610.9. Team: 1. Tamil Nadu 1834.5, 2. Maharashtra 1825.3, 3. Railways 1809.0.


    Previous articleRahi Sarnobat wins gold at Kumar Surendra Singh
    Next articleDilreen Gill shoots a double gold at KSS