Home Jitu Rai wins Gold in Free Pistol at Nationals

    Jitu Rai wins Gold in Free Pistol at Nationals

    Jitu Rai

    Asian Games gold medallist Jitu Rai walked away with the individual as well as team gold medal in Men’s 50m free pistol with Army marksmen dominating the day at the 58th National Shooting Championship, in Pune on Sunday.

    The Army marksmen, with a total of 1590, won the gold medal in 50-metre junior men’s team event at the Chhatrapti Shivaji Balewadi Shooting Range.

    Local talent Sumedh Kumar Devlalivala shot a total of 536 to walk away with the gold in 50-metre pistol junior men’s category.

    Jitu, who took the pole position in the 50-metre pistol event qualification round with a total of 555, shot 193 in the finals, falling short by a single point to match his own personal record of 194 points in the category, which he shot at the Commonwealth Games earlier this year.

    Fellow Army marksman Gurpal Singh finished second with a total of 189.8 while Samresh Jung from CISF finished third with 168.5.

    In the team event the Army shooters Jitu, Jai Singh and Manjit reigned supreme shooting a total of 1656 points to walk away with the gold.

    Air India marksmen Deepak Sharma, Zakir Khan and Md. Asif Iqbal Khan finished second with a total of 1627 points, while Air Force’s Ravinder, Kapil Kumar and Monu Tomar finished third with a total of 1611 points.

    In the 50-metre pistol junior boys event, local boy Sumedh Kumar Devlalivala and army youngster Prashant Malik shot identical totals of 536 points, but the latter had to settle for the silver thanks to Sumedh’s higher inner 10s.

    Suraj Bhambani from Delhi had to be content with the bronze medal with a total of 530 points.

    In the 50M Jr. Boys team event, the Army Marksmen unit of Prashant Malik, Vasen and Manoj Pal stamped their authority with the gold medal by shooting a total of 1590 points. The silver medal for the category was won by the Maharashtra team of Sumedh Kumar Devlalivala, Sanchit Agashe and Vikas Dhama, who shot 1556.

    Tribhuvan Kanwar, Siddharth Kishore Mishra and Yash Modak, representing Delhi, settled for the bronze medal with a total of 1526 points.

    Punjab marksman Akshay Jain walked away with the gold

    medal in the 50-metre pistol civilian category with 546 points, while Railways marksman Vipin Rana finished second with 546 points and Md. Asif Iqbal Khan of Air India settled for the bronze medal with a total of 540 points.

    In the team event Maharashtra’s Sumedh Kumar Devlalivala, Rachit Kapadia and Bagul Rajendra walked away with the gold medal with 1583 points, followed by Punjab’s Akshay Jain, Jaspal Singh and Avtar Singh with 1576 points.

    The railways team of Vipin Rana, Jitendra Vibhute and shyamal Kr. Das settled for the bronze with a total of 1573.


    Previous articleGold for Shreyasi & Ankur in Patiala
    Next articleAbhinav Bindra wins Bronze in Prone, Gold for Hariom