Home KSS: Rohit Kumar Singh wins Gold in Men 10m Air Rifle

    KSS: Rohit Kumar Singh wins Gold in Men 10m Air Rifle

    From Left - Mohit Manjunath Gowda, Rohit Kumar Singh & Hriday Hazarika.

    Rohit Kumar Singh of Army emerged the champion in Men’s 10m Air Rifle, beating Mohit Manjunath Gowda of Maharsahtra 17-13 in the gold medal contest at the ongoing 20th Kumar Surendra Singh Memorial Shooting Competition in New Delhi.

    Junior World Champion Hriday Hazarika of Assam took the bronze.

    Rohit finished fifth in his qualification with a score of 629.2 while Mohit shot 628.4 to make the cut for the finals on the eighth place even as the Navy Kiran Ankush Jadhav topped with a sizzling 633.5 which is equal to the current World Record.

    In the semifinals however Rohit with 261.3 and Manjunath with 260.7 finished in the top two to set up the title clash. Hriday came third with 260.2.

    In the junior event, former World No.1 and Olympian Divyansh Singh Panwar of Rajasthan, outclassed Hriday 17-1 for the gold while Abhinav Shaw of West Bengal beat Vejendla Bhanu Praneeth of Andhra Pradesh 17-11 to claim the youth gold.

    The Results:

    Men’s 10m Air Rifle: 1. Rohit Kumar Singh 17 (261.3) 629.2; 2. Mohit Manjunath Gowda 13 (260.7) 628.4; 3. Hriday Hazarika 260.2 (629.8)

    Junior Men’s 10m Air Rifle: 1. Divyansh Singh Panwar 17 (263.8) 629.0; 2. Hriday Hazarika 1 (262.1) 629.8; 3. Sumedh Sasane 261.9 (628.9).

    Youth Men’s 10m Air Rifle: 1. Abhinav Shaw 17 (260.2) 624.1; 2. Vejendla Praneeth 11 (257.9) 623.9; 3. Pranav Jindal 256.7 (624.6).

    Sub-Youth Men’s 10m Air Rifle: 1. Pranav Jindal 624.6; 2. Abhinav Shaw 624.1; 3. Parth Mane 623.9.


    Previous articleJudge’s daughter arrested in shooter Sippy Sidhu murder case
    Next articleDouble Olympic medallist Munkhbayar Dorjsuren appointed Indian Pistol Team’s foreign coach