Home Online Shooting Ranking launched

    Online Shooting Ranking launched

    Screengrab of the 1st IOSC - Photo: indianshooting.com

    After the innovative idea of staging online shooting competitions in times of the pandemic last year, indianshooting.com ushered in the New Year with another first by announcing the launch of its Online Shooting Ranking on January 1.

    Based on the performance in six International Online Shooting Championships (IOSC) in 2020, shooters have been ranked and the rankings will be updated after every edition from now on.

    As per the calculations, a top spot fetches 8 points while an 8th place gets 1 point.

    Needless to say, Indian shooters dominate the charts with Yash Vardhan (19 points), Visnu Shivaraj Pandian (18 points) and Rudrankksh Patil (15 points) ranked third, fourth and fifth respectively in 10m air rifle.

    Martin Strempfl’s prolific run in IOSCs reflects in his bagging the top spot among rifle shooters with 36 points. The Olympic quota winner for Austria won the 1st and 4th IOSCs, for which he was awarded 8 points each. 7 points each came his way for finishing runner-up at the 2nd and 6th IOSC, and 6 points for the third spot at the 5th IOSC.

    France’s Etienne Germond follows Martin at the second spot with 25 points.

    But for Sylvia Steiner, another Olympic quota winner from Austria, at third spot with 12 points courtesy a runner-up and 4th place finish, the 10m air pistol rankings are proof of India’s stature as a shooting powerhouse. Four Indians make up the top five, and leading the pack is quota winner Yashaswini Singh Deswal with 24 points. The 23-year-old Yashaswini bagged the top spot in three IOSCs for 8 points from every win. With a win and runner-up finish in two editions, Amanpreet Singh occupies the second place with 15 points. Another quota winner Manu Bhaker, who finished 3rd twice, is joint third with Sylvia. Shahzar Rizvi, a homegrown talent, is joint fourth with Scotland’s Emilia Faulkner with 11 points. A point behind the duo is Egypt’s Ahmed Esmat.

    Friday’s announcement comes as a double joy for Martin and Yashaswini as they were named the Online Shooters of the Year on December 27.

    [gview file=”https://www.indianshooting.com/wp-content/uploads/OSR-AR-Jan-2021.pdf”]

    [gview file=”https://www.indianshooting.com/wp-content/uploads/OSR-AP-Jan-2021.pdf”]


    Previous articleUkrainian Army appreciates Shimon Sharif
    Next articleManu Bhaker to train in Bhopal ahead of selection trials