Home Asab wins his first gold at Nationals

    Asab wins his first gold at Nationals


    Mohd Asab maintained fine form to claim gold in Men’s Double Trap at the 59th National Shotgun Championship that concluded in Jaipur on Wednesday.

    Junior shooter Bhowneesh Mendiratta also did well to make it to the gold medal round but was restricted to the silver by Asab.

    “This is my first National title. I was happy with the way I shot. I will do my best to win the Olympic quota for India,ÔÇØ said the 28-year-old Asab.

    Sangram Dahiya won the bronze after beating defending champion Ankur Mittal 27-25.

    Ahvar Rizvi, an eighth standard student from St. John School in Meerut, was on par with Asab in the lead on 136 in qualification but finished fifth in the finals.

    2010 Asian Games gold medallist Ronjan Sodhi shot 127 in the qualifications to finish ninth.

    It was an interesting fight for the junior gold between Rizvi and Mendiratta. The two juniors showed great composure to shoot the last two birds each to force the tie on 27. Rizvi, who started the shoot-off, prevailed 4-2 and it was silver once again for Mendiratta while Priyanshu Pandey won the bronze.

    The Results:

    Men’s Double Trap: Men: 1. Mohd. Asab 27 (29) 136; 2. Bhowneesh Mendiratta 24 (28)2 (132); 3. Sangram Dahiya 27 (28)1 (130); 4. Ankur Mittal 25 (27) 135; 5. Ahvar Rizvi 26 (136); 6. Prithviraj Tondaiman 21 (130).

    Junior Men’s: 1. Ahvar Rizvi 27(4) 30 (136); 2. Bhowneesh Mendiratta 27(2) 25 (132); 3. Priyanshu Pandey 26 (24) 125; 4. Aditya Vikram Singh 25 (24) 126; 5. Shapath Bharadwaj 23 (125); 6. Gursher Singh Kohli 20 (128).

    Veterans: 1. Ranajit Nobis 78; 2. Simerjit Singh Sekhon 70; 3. Jagwal Singh Sidhu 57.