Home Indian shooting team for CWG announced

    Indian shooting team for CWG announced

    Shreyasi Singh

    The National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) announced a 27-member Indian shooting team for the Commonwealth Games to be staged in Gold Coast, Australia, in April.

    A total of nine men’s and eight women’s events will be held in rifle, pistol and shotgun categories.

    This year, the Organizing Committee of Commonwealth Games has reduced the country quotas across sports and hence only 15 men and 12 women could be fielded by India in shooting, down from 30 previously.

    The NRAI also finalised teams for ISSF World Cups this year, apart from the senior and junior national squads.

    The Team:

    Men: Sanjeev Rajput, Chain Singh, Gagan Narang, Ravi Kumar, Deepak Kumar, Anish Bhanwala, Neeraj Kumar, Jitu Rai, Om Prakash Mitharwal, Manavjit Sandhu, Kynan Chenai, Mohd. Asab, Ankur Mittal, Smit Singh and Sheeraz Sheikh.

    Women: Anjum Moudgil, Tejaswini Sawant, Apurvi Chandela, Mehuli Ghosh, Heena Sidhu, Annuraj Singh, Manu Bhaker, Shreyasi Singh, Seema Tomar, Varsha Varman, Saniya Sheikh and Maheshwari Chauhan.


    Previous articleCGF reduces country’s quota, chokes Indian shooters
    Next articleManu Bhaker wins gold with new national record at Khelo India