Home ISSF President Cup: Manu Bhaker wins Gold with Olympic champion Javad Foroughi

    ISSF President Cup: Manu Bhaker wins Gold with Olympic champion Javad Foroughi


    India’s Manu Bhaker and Iran’s reigning Olympic champion Javad Foroughi won the gold in 10m Air Pistol Mixed Team at the ongoing ISSF President Cup in Wroclaw, Poland. The Indo-Iranian pair got the better of the French-Russian duo of Mathilde Lamolle and Artem Chernousov 16-8 in the gold medal match.

    Manu and Javad had placed third in qualification with a combined 582/600 to qualify for the first semi-final where they topped the field of four pairs to make it to the final. Lamolle and Artem came through by winning the second semi-final.

    Manu Bhaker with Javad Foroughi at ISSF President’s Cup in Wroclaw, Poland.

    Among the other Indians in the field, Abhishek Verma paired up with Ukranian Olena Kostevych to finish sixth while the pairing of Saurabh Chaudhary and Swiss Heidi Gerber Diethelm also made it among the top eight semi-finalists to finish seventh. Yashaswini Singh Deswal, the fourth Indian in the fray, who was paired with Slovakian Juraj Tuzinsky, ended 10th among the 12 teams in the competition.

    International Mixed Teams were formed by the ISSF randomly in accordance with the draw.

    The inaugural ISSF President Cup is a rechristened version of the ISSF World Cup Final, where the year top 12 athletes according to World Ranking are invited to determine the best individual athletes of the year in the respective Olympic events. Individual winners will be awarded The Golden Target along with prize money. Cash awards will also be awarded to all athletes in the individual competitions.

    [gview file=”https://www.indianshooting.com/wp-content/uploads/G200020TA0511212015.1.APMIXEXP.0.001.pdf”]