Home National Shooting: Om Prakash Mitharval wins gold in men's air pistol

    National Shooting: Om Prakash Mitharval wins gold in men’s air pistol


    Om Prakash Mitharval of Army upstaged teenage shooting star Saurabh Chaudhary of Uttar Pradesh to win gold medal in the men’s 10m air pistol on the concluding day of the 62nd National Shooting Championship in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala.

    From left: Saurabh Chaudhary with Om Prakash Mitharval.

    The 23-year-old Mitharval, who won two bronze medals at the Commonwealth Games earlier this year, took an early lead in the final and maintained it throughout to win the top spot with a score of 241.1.

    Earlier, the World No. 16 Mitharval shot 580 to qualify for the final on the 5th place.

    The 16-year-old Saurabh, who topped the qualification with 587, settled for the silver with 239.8 while Arjun Das of Railways took the bronze with 217.9.

    Saurabh, however, dominated the junior final to win the gold with 245.3. Vijayveer Sidhu of Chandigarh won the silver while Arjun Singh Cheema of Punjab took the bronze with 220.7.

    In the youth category, Sarabjot Singh of Haryana won the gold with 241.6 outgunning Vijayveer and his brother Udayveer Sidhu, who finished second and third with scores of 240.9 and 220.2 respectively.

    The Results:

    Men’s 10m Air Pistol: 1. Om Prakash Mitharval (Army) 241.1 (580); 2. Saurabh Choudhary (Uttar Pradesh) 239.8 (587); 3. Arjun Das (Railways) 217.9 (578). Team: 1. Uttar Pradesh (1733); 2. Railways (1730); 3. Haryana (1729).

    Junior Men’s 10m Air Pistol: 1. Saurabh Choudhary (Uttar Pradesh) 245.3 (587); 2. Vijayveer Sidhu (Chandigarh) 242.3 (582); 3. Arjun Singh Cheema (Punjab) 220.7 (577). Team: 1. Uttar Pradesh (1732); 2. Haryana (1724); 3. Chandigarh (1718).

    Youth Men’s 10m Air Pistol: 1. Sarabjot Singh (Haryana) 241.6 (578); 2. Vijayveer Sidhu (Chandigarh) 240.9 (582); 3. Udayveer Sidhu (Chandigarh) 220.2 (578). Team: 1. Haryana (1727); 2. Chandigarh (1712); 3. Punjab (1712).