Home Ravi Kumar retains air rifle national title

    Ravi Kumar retains air rifle national title


    Ravi Kumar retained the Men’s 10m Air Rifle title at the 61st National Shooting Championship in Thiruvananthapuram.

    The 27-year-old Air Force shooter continued his good form from the Asian Airgun Championship held in Wako City, Japan recently where he bagged a bronze.

    Ravi, who shot the second best qualification score of 627.0, shot a brilliant score of 251.2 in the finals to claim the gold and rewrite his own national record of 225.7 set earlier this year.

    The two-time Olympian, Sanjeev Rajput of Haryana topped the qualification with 627.8 but eventually settled with bronze after shooting 228.0. Punjab’s Arjun Babuta won the silver with 248.9.

    Ravi also led the Air Force team to the team gold with a score of 1868 while Haryana (1866) and Punjab (1644) won the silver and bronze respectively.

    Olympic bronze medallist Gagan Narang shot 622.3 to finish 9th while another Olympian Chain Singh shot 619.6 to finish 21st in a field of 473 shooters.

    In the junior men event, Divyansh Singh Panwar of Rajasthan won the gold with a score of 247.6. The silver was won by Tejas Krishna Prasad of Karnataka, just 0.4 points behind Panwar. Sunmoon Singh Brar of Punjab took the bronze with 225.7.

    Divyansh also won the youth gold with a score of 247.7. The silver was won by Shahu Tushar Mane of Maharashtra with 246.3 while his teammate Sachet Santosh won the bronze with 224.9.

    The Results:

    Men’s 10m Air Rifle: 1. Ravi Kumar (Air Force) 251.2 (627.0); 2. Arjun Babuta (PUN) 248.9 (626.2); 3. Sanjeev Rajput (HAR) 228.0 (627.8).

    Men’s 10m Air Rifle Team:┬á1. Air Force (1868.6); 2. Haryana (1866.8); 3. Punjab (1864.8).

    Civilian Men’s 10m Air Rifle:┬á1. Arjun Babuta (PUN) 626.2 (NNR); 2. Sunmoon Singh Brar (PUN)┬á623.8; 3. Divyansh Singh Panwar (RAJ) 623.7.

    Civilian Men’s 10m Air Rifle Team: 1. Punjab-A (1864.8); 2. Punjab-B (1855.6); 3. Rajasthan (1855.2).

    Junior Men’s 10m Air Rifle:┬á1. Divyansh Singh Panwar (RAJ) 247.6 ; 2. Tejas Krishna Prasad (KAR) 247.2; 3.┬áSunmoon Singh Brar (PUN) 225.7.