Home 41-member Indian squad for Asian Shooting Championship

    41-member Indian squad for Asian Shooting Championship


    A 41-member strong Indian shooting squad will look to secure the maximum possible Olympic quotas in the 14th Asian Shooting Championship, which begins in Doha, qatar on November 3.

    A total of thirty-eight Olympic quotas will be up for grabs at the last Olympic qualifying event for the Asian shooters.

    The selection committee of the National Rifle Association of India (NRAI), which met in the capital on Wednesday, announced the team consisting of shooters across the 15 Olympic events, including six entries only for the non-competition Minimum Qualification Score (MQS) section.

    Shreyasi Singh

    A notable selection was the fielding of seasoned rifle shooter Sanjeev Rajput in the MQS section of the men 10m air rifle. This was done to ensure that in a situation the second quota in the event is not earned, Sanjeev can be kept for the event for Tokyo. Divyansh Panwar has earned one quota for India in the 10m air rifle out of a maximum possible two till now.

    There are also some new faces who will be seen for the first time in senior India colours in the Olympic events. Among them, Shravan Kumar (in men 10m air pistol) will join the duo of Abhishek Verma and Saurabh Chaudhary.

    Also, in the men 25m rapid fire pistol, where there are four quotas to be won in Doha, Bhavesh Shekhawat will partner the likes of Anish Bhanwala and Adarsh Singh.

    Neeraj Kaur, in women 25m Pistol, will also be seen for the first time for India in an international event.

    The teams across junior and youth categories as well as non-Olympic categories were also announced.

    The Indian Team in Olympic events:

    Men’s 10m Air Pistol: Saurabh Chaudhary, Abhishek Verma, Sharvan Kumar.

    Men’s 25m Rapid Fire Pistol: Anish Bhanwala, Bhavesh Shekhawat, Adarsh Singh.

    Men’s 10m Air Rifle: Deepak Kumar, Yash Vardhan, Kiran Ankush Jadhav. MQS: Divyansh Singh Panwar, Sanjeev Rajput

    Men’s 50m Rifle Three Positions: Parul Kumar, Chain Singh, Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar. MQS: Sanjeev Rajput.

    Men’s Trap: Manavjit Singh Sandhu, Kynan Chenai, Prithviraj Tondaiman.

    Men’s Skeet: Angad Vir Singh Bajwa, Smit Singh, Mairaj Ahmad Khan.

    Women’s 10m Air Pistol: Yashaswini Singh Deswal, Manu Bhaker, Annu Raj Singh.

    Women’s 25m Pistol: Annu Raj Singh, Chinki Yadav, Neeraj Kaur. MQS: Rahi Sarnobat, Manu Bhaker.

    Women’s 10m Air Rifle: Anjum Moudgil, Apurvi Chandela, Elavenil Valarivan. MQS: Mehuli Ghosh.

    Women’s 50m Rifle Three Positions: Tejaswini Sawant, Gaayathri Nithyanandam, Kajal Saini.

    Women’s Trap: Kirti Gupta, Rajeshwari Kumari, Shreyasi Singh. MQS: Soumya Gupta.

    Women’s Skeet: Ganemat Sekhon, Saniya Sheikh, Darshna Rathore.