Home National Shooting: Rajshree Sancheti crowned National Champion in Women's 10m Air Rifle

    National Shooting: Rajshree Sancheti crowned National Champion in Women’s 10m Air Rifle


    Rajshree Sancheti of Delhi won the gold in Women 10m Air Rifle as she beat defending champion Zeena Khitta of Himachal Pradesh by 1.7 point at the ongoing 64th National Shooting Championship (Rifle) in Bhopal.

    The 26-year-old Rajshree put up a brilliant performance in the final to claim the top spot with a score of 251.8 (628.9). The silver was won by Zeena with 250.1 (627.4) while qualification topper Shreya Agrawal of Madhya Pradesh took the bronze with 227.7 (631.4).

    From Left: Zeena Khitta, Rajshree Sancheti & Shreya Agrawal.

    None of the Tokyo Olympians Elavenil Valarivan, Anjum Moudgil and Apurvi Chandela could make the cut for the final. Former World No.1 Elavenil shot 626.8 to finish 12th. World Championship silver medallist Anjum shot 623.8 to finish 35th while World Record holder Apurvi shot 617.3 to finish 167th in a field of 559 shooters.

    Narmada Nithin of Tamil Nadu sealed the junior gold with a perfect 10.9 on her last shot. Narmada’s score of 252.1 (627.5) is a National Record. Zeena finished second yet again with 250.4 (627.4) while Pahuni Pawar of Karnataka won the bronze with 227.6 (627.7).

    Anshika Gupta of Madhya Pradesh won the youth gold with 250.4 (625.8). Ramita of Haryana shot 249.9 (628.3) to win the silver while Mansi Harishchandra Pansare of Maharashtra took the bronze with 228.4 (625.8).