Home National Shooting: Sarabjot Singh wins Gold in Men's 10m Air Pistol

    National Shooting: Sarabjot Singh wins Gold in Men’s 10m Air Pistol


    Haryana shooters Sarabjot Singh and Shiva Narwal hogged the limelight in the Men’s 10m Air Pistol at the ongoing 64th National Shooting Championship (Pistol) in New Delhi.

    The 20-year-old Sarabjot won the gold with a score of 242.3 (581). The silver was won by Shiva with 241.7 (582). Delhi Harsh Gupta took the bronze with 221.2 (581) while World No.3 Saurabh Chaudhary of Uttar Pradesh ended fourth with 200.9 (584) in a field of 916 shooters.

    Kedarling Balakrishna Uchaganve of Army registered the best qualification score of 585 but finished 6th in the final with 158.9.

    “To become a national champion ahead of shooters like Saurabh and Abhishek is a matter of pride. I am looking forward to shoot in more internationals like Asian Games next year,ÔÇØ said Sarabjot.

    Sarabjot had recently won gold medals in 10m Air Pistol Team and Mixed Team events at the ISSF Junior World Championship held in Lima, Peru. In 2019, he had also won gold at the Junior World Cup in Suhl.

    The 15-year-old Shiva bounced back in the junior finals to claim gold with a new national record of 246.7, a score 0.4 better than the current world record set by Saurabh at the Munich World Cup in 2019. Shiva’s score of 246.7 is also a national record, ironically previously held by Saurabh at 245.3. Saurabh, too, went past his record, winning silver with 246.5 (584). Sarabjot settled for bronze in this one with 225.4 (581).

    Shiva then also went on to win the youth gold with 243.1 (582). The silver was won by Sagar Bhargava of Haryana 239.4 (579) while Arif Malik of Uttar Pradesh won bronze with 216.2 (580).