Home Ravi Kumar misses air rifle medal by a whisker at ISSF World...

    Ravi Kumar misses air rifle medal by a whisker at ISSF World Cup


    Ravi Kumar narrowly missed out on a medal in men 10m air rifle on the opening day of the ISSF World Cup in Changwon, Korea.

    The 28-year-old, Ravi, shot a score of 208.4 in the finals to miss the podium with a slender margin of 0.2 point while his compatriot young Arjun Babuta finished 6th with 165.2.

    Both Ravi and Arjun had a great start in the finals as they registered scores of 104.6 to take a joint lead after their first ten shots but eventually slipped to finish 4th and 6th respectively.

    The 2018 Commonwealth Games bronze medallist, Ravi, shot the second best qualification score of 629.2 while Arjun, who was competing in his first senior World Cup, shot 627.0.

    Another Indian in the fray, Deepak Kumar, shot 625.9 to finish 15th in a field of 92 shooters.

    Alexander Dryagin of Russia won the gold with a world record of 251.2 while his compatriot Vladimir Maslennikov won the silver with 250.2. The bronze was own by Istvan Peni of Hungary with 228.5.

    The reigning world champion Yang Haoran of China, who had topped the qualification with 632.9, finished 5th with 186.9.

    Apurvi Chandela misses final by a point

    Olympian Apurvi Chandela finished 10th in women’s 10m air rifle. Apurvi shot 627.0 to miss the finals by a point.

    The CWG silver medallist, Mehuli Ghosh, shot 626.0 to finish 17th while Anjum Moudgil shot 625.5 to finish 20th.

    Zhao Ruozhu of China won the gold with a world record of 252.4.

    The Results:

    Men’s 10m Air Rifle: 1. Alexander Dryagin (Russia) 251.2 (WR) 628.8; 2. Vladimir Maslennikov (Russia) 250.2 (629.0); 3. Istvan Peni (Hungary) 228.5 (627.9); 4. Ravi Kumar (India) 208.4 (629.2); 6. Arjun Babuta (India) 165.2 (627.0); 15. Deepak Kumar (India) 625.9. MQS: Akhil Sheoran (India) 622.3.

    Women’s 10m Air Rifle: 1. Zhao Ruozhu (China) 252.4 (WR) 628.8; 2. Ying-Shin Lin (Chinese Taipei) 251.0 (628.6); 3. Jenny Stene (Norway) 229.1 (628.3); 10. Apurvi Chandela (India) 627.0; 17. Mehuli Ghosh (India) 626.0; 20. Anjum Moudgil (India) 625.5. MQS: Shriyanka Sadangi (India) 623.7.